Sunday, June 26, 2011

More news about the new law to take effect July 1st

It seems this new law recently passed is even worse than previously thought. The Cullman Times reports even MORE new provisions to the newest law taking effect July 1st, 2011. The Day Labor law will effectively prevent registrants from obtaining employment, as most day laborers don't even know where they will work. Who will be able to afford the fees and GPS? It is obviously a ploy to incarcerate those on the list.

A few other significant changes to the sex offender law include:
  • Registered sex offenders who are homeless are required to check in once a week.
  • Those who do day labor must provide local law enforcement with details about where and when they will be working each day.
  • Sex offenders will have to pay a $10 fee every time they register. That same fee will also be charged for every move.
  • A travel permit is required through local law enforcement if a sex offender plans to be away from their residence for more than three days or if they plan to travel outside the area.
  • Those sex offenders who have been classified as sexual predators or convicted of sexually violent crimes will be required to wear a Global Positioning System (GPS) for 10 years, at their own expense.
  • Some youthful offenders and juveniles, those charged with more serious sex crimes, will have to register for a lifetime instead of 10 years.

Thursday, June 16, 2011

State's sex offender laws get tougher

No surprise since no one is fighting anything there. No one has contacted me in support of this site since it began a year ago. If you don't voice your opposition when it is in session, it is harder to fight laws after they pass.

State's sex offender laws get tougher

Posted: Wednesday, June 15, 2011 4:47 pm

By DeWayne Patterson

Gov. Robert Bentley recently signed legislation making Alabama's existing sex offender registration laws tougher.

"They needed to be tougher," said Jackson County Sgt. Investigator Paul Smith, who oversees the county's sex offender registration. "There's some really good changes. At the same time, it's going to double everyone in the state's workload, but that's not a bad thing."

Smith said, effective July 1, sex offenders must register quarterly or four times per year rather than only twice. Previously, a sex offender moving into Alabama had seven days to register. Smith said that's been changed to immediately.

Sex offenders will now also be required to pay a $10 fee each time of registeration or transfer of residence.

Smith said the new law also changes it from a misdemeanor to a felony for a sex offender to deface or alter an identification card.

It will also be a felony to harbor, assist conceal or withhold information about a sex offender. "We've been screaming about folks hiding offenders for years," said Smith. "Now, they can be charged."

Jackson County currently has 72 adult sex offenders, according to Smith, seven of which are currently incarcerated.

Friday, June 3, 2011

It really IS all about the money-- AL SORNA

The truth comes out-- it is all about the money. That, and trying to find lame excuses to lock up people who have completed their sentences. Considering how few actually have a job due to Predator Panic, how do they expect someone who has no job to pay $250? This law is unconstitutional. Make those who want this useless info pay the fees instead. I'd refuse to pay.

Bill to tighten Ala. sex offender registration heads to Bentley

The bill would require weekly registration from homeless offenders.

By Alison Flowers

The Alabama Senate unanimously passed measures to tighten the state's existing sex offender registration law Thursday. The bill is now headed to Governor Robert Bentley's desk for approval.

The new requirements would prohibit a sex offender who abused a sibling from living under the same roof as the person they abused. Homeless offenders would have to register weekly with law enforcement until they secure a permanent address. All offenders would have to supply extra information to be made public, under the proposed law.
But the measure that Lee County Sheriff Jay Jones says is long overdue: the $250 offender registration payment.
"Every time an individual moves, we have to notify the area where they're moving, and there's an expense involved each time."
Federal law mandates the sheriff's office track sex offenders, an endeavor that involves software and fees.
"The public wants to know, and they need to know in regard to these individuals in their neighborhoods, but it can be an expensive proposition at some point," Jones said.